An insightful album release which opens the door to the world of adventure and virtuosity of the brass soloists of this exciting era.  The recording brings together a varied collection of works written by leading 19th century brass composers, which demonstrate the artistry and impressive technical ability of the brass celebrities of that period.

To get closer to the sounds of the period, the album was recorded in the Victorian-period concert hall of the University of Glasgow, performed on a Bayley Acoustic Model cornet (John Wallace) and a Gautrot ophicleide (c.1845) (Anthony George), accompanied on the University of Glasgow’s 1844 Broadwood grand piano (Aaron Shorr/Simon Wright).


John Wallace – Cornet
Anthony George – Ophicleide
Aaron Shorr – Piano
Simon Wright – Piano


  • Zerlina Polka (Wallace/Wright)
    • Composer: Émile Ettling (c.1820-1881)
  • Scène et Bolero op. 288 (George/Shorr)
    • Joseph Labitzky (1802-1881)
  • Grand Fantasia Alexis (Wallace/Wright)
    • John Hartmann (1830-1897)
  • The Death of Nelson (George/Shorr)
    • John Braham (1774-1856)
  • Souvenir de la Suisse Polka (Wallace/Wright)
    • Alessandro Liberati (1847-1927)
  • O Ruddier than the Cherry (George/Wright)
    • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
  • Goodbye Sweetheart, Goodbye (Wallace/Wright)
    • Alexander Owen (1851-1920)
  • Incidental Music for Macbeth (George/Wright)
    • Matthew Locke (1622-1677)
  • Sweet Spirit Hear My Prayer (Wallace/Wright)
    • William Weide
  • The Watch on the Rhine (Wallace/Wright)
    • John Hartmann (1830-1897)

Many of the works performed on this are also being published as new editions by John Wallace and Anthony George (publisher: The Music Company (UK) Ltd), and will be made available through our online shop upon release.

Shop Now