Launchpad for Resonances of Waterloo

A special concert took place at St Alfege Church, Greenwich, London on 2 July 2018 to launch the first studio recording of Sigismund von Neukomm’s Requiem in C minor of 1815.  Entitled Resonances of Waterloo, the CD was released on the University of St Andrews label – Sanctiandree.


This event featured:

  • St Salvator’s Chapel Choir, University of St Andrews
  • The Wallace Collection
  • Brass students from Trinity Laban (using period instruments)
  • Brass students from University of St Andrews (using period instruments)
  • Sean Heath (organ)
  • Tom Wilkinson and Andrew Dunn (conductors)

A Feast of Music

The first half of the concert mirrored the concert’s theme:

  • Félicien-César David (1810-76) Allegro Agitatofrom Nonette no. 1 (1839)
  • Jean-Baptiste Arban (1825-89) Le petit Suisse (c.1859) echo cornet soloist John Wallace
  • Charles-Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921) Danse macabre,  40 (1874) arranged for eight trombones by Alan Gout
  • Giacomo Meyerbeer (1791-1864) Selection from Robert le Diable(1831) arranged for the National Brass Band contest at Crystal Palace in 1862 by James Smyth

The second half focused on Neukomm’s work for organ, choir and brass octet – Requiem in C Minor – the centrepiece of the new CD release – which was performed on historic instruments.

Here’s a short video which provides a taste of the evening:


The Resonances of Waterloo CD has now been released and full details about this landmark recording can be found by clicking here

If you would like to purchase a copy, it is available through The Wallace Collection Online Shop.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *